Space for Internal Group Chat

maaiiconnect Group Chat

What is Space?

Space is maaiiconnect's group chat feature that you can use to regularly exchange messages with other staff members while serving customer inquiries, during meetings, or while occupied with other activities and engagements.

You can create a Public Space, which is open to and searchable by other staff members; or a by-invitation-only Private Space. You can add up to 500 staff members in a Space.

Creating a Public Space

To create a Public Space:

  • On your Workspace's Utility panel, click on the (+) button, then click on New Chat.
  • On the Staff Contacts window that will appear, scroll down through and select the staff members that you would like to add in your Space by ticking the checkboxes beside their names, then click on Next. You may also use the search bar at the top of the screen to look for the staff members. Just type in their names and tick the checkboxes beside their names once they appear in the search results.
  • On the New Space window that will appear, type in the name of your Space. The Space name should be unique, no longer than 60 characters, without white spaces, capital letters, and/or special characters apart from "_" and "-".
  • Type in the description of your Space, i.e., what it is about. The description should be no longer than 500 characters.
  • Click on Create. A message will state that your Space has been successfully created.

The newly-created Public Space will appear in the Recent Connection area of your Workspace's Utility panel. It will also notify the added staff members that they have joined the said Space.

Creating a Private Space

To create a Private Space:

  • On your Workspace's Utility panel, click on the (+) button, then click on New Chat.
  • On the Staff Contacts window that will appear, scroll down through and select the staff members that you would like to add in your Space by ticking the checkboxes beside their names, then click on Next. You may also use the search bar at the top of the screen to look for the staff members. Just type in their names and tick the checkboxes beside their names once they appear in the search results.
  • On the New Space window that will appear, type in the name of your Space. The Space name should be unique, no longer than 60 characters, without white spaces, capital letters, and/or special characters apart from "_" and "-".
  • Type in the description of your Space, i.e., what it is about. The description should be no longer than 500 characters.
  • On Space Setting, toggle the button On (green) to set the Space to Private.
  • Click on Create. A message will state that your Space has been successfully created.

The newly-created Private Space will appear with a locked icon beside its name in the Recent Connection area of your Workspace's Utility panel. It will also notify the added staff members that they have joined the said Space.

Things to Do Inside a Space

As a member of a Space, you can do the following:

  • Chat with the other staff members inside the Space.
  • Share images, videos, documents, and voice notes. All staff members inside the Space will receive the files you shared.
  • Use @mention, e.g., @all or @[staff member name], to respectively notify all Space members or an individual member about a specific message(s).

Space Room Information

  1. To view the Space information panel, click on the room profile icon on the right side of the Space window.

As a Space owner/member, you can

  1. View all Space members
  2. Rename the space, update its description, and upload its profile image by clicking on the edit icon then clicking on Save.

Changes made in the name, description, and profile image will be reflected in the Space room information.

Adding Members into a Space

As a space owner/member, you can add members in your Space:

  • On the right side of the Space window, click on (room profile icon) to view the Space information panel.
  • Click on Add Member.
  • On the Staff Contact List that will appear, scroll down through and select the staff members that you would like to add in your Space by ticking the checkboxes beside their names, then click on Invite. You may also use the search bar at the top of the screen to look for the staff members. Just type in their names and tick the checkboxes beside their names once they appear in the search results.

A message will then state that the members were successfully added, and the names of the new members will be added to the member list. The Space will also display a system message indicating that the staff members have joined.

Removing Members from a Space

A. As a Space owner, you can remove members from your Private Space
B. As a member with an administrator role, you can remove members from your Public Space

  • On the right side of the Space window, click on (room profile icon) to view the Space information panel.
  • On the Members list, find the staff member you wish to remove then click on the (x) beside their name. A pop-up message will appear, asking you to confirm the action.
  • Click on Remove. A message will then state that the member was successfully removed from the Space. The Space will also display a system message indicating that the staff member has left.

Transferring Space Ownership

A. As a space owner, you can transfer the ownership of your Private Space to another member
B. As a member with an administrator role, you can transfer the ownership of your Public Space to another member

  • On the right side of the Space window, click on (room profile icon) to view the Space information panel.
  • Click on Transfer Ownership. A pop-up window with a dropdown box will appear. The dropdown box contains the names of the members you can transfer the Space ownership to.
  • Find the staff member you wish to transfer the Space ownership to, then click on the *Transfer** button that will be enabled.

The Space will then display a system message indicating that the Space ownership has been transferred to another staff member.

Leaving a Space

As a Space owner/member, you can leave and exit from the Space.

  • On the right side of the Space window, click on (room profile icon) to view the Space information panel.
  • Click on Leave Space. A pop-up message will appear, asking you to confirm the action.
  • Click on Leave. A message will then state that you have successfully left the Space. The Space will also display a system message indicating that you left.

Deleting a Space

A. As a Space owner, you can delete your Private/Public Space
B. As an administrator, you can delete your Public Space

  • On the right side of the Space window, click on (room profile icon) to view the Space information panel.
  • Click on Delete Space. A pop-up message will appear, asking you to confirm the action.
  • Tick the checkbox beside I confirm to delete this space then click on Delete. A message will then state that Space has been successfully deleted. The Space will also be deleted and removed from the Recent Connection area of your Utility panel, and other staff members will no longer have access to it.

Updated 2 months ago


Space for Internal Group Chat


maaiiconnect Group Chat

Suggested Edits are limited on API Reference Pages

You can only suggest edits to Markdown body content, but not to the API spec.